When Brianya still didn’t elaborate, Ed

When Brianya still didn’t elaborate, Ed started to walk away. “Look, Brianya,” he said turning back. “I think you’re a fascinating and beautiful woman, who got the raw end of the deal a few years back. I can’t speak for all men, but I can certainly speak for myself: I would never have treated you that way, and I apologize for all the knuckleheads out there who’re like your ex. But that’s in the past. As for the present, I want to get to know you, spend time with you. I’m not into playing games; I’m too old for that. And even when I was a younger man, I didn’t go in for that sort of thing. I think people should say what they mean. If you think I’m someone you can stand to be around and you want to get to know me better, too, then what’s the harm in getting a bite to eat?”

“Wow. What can I say to that?” Actually, there was something she could say, but she hesitated to put the question to him. Deciding that there was no time like the present, Brianya laid it all out on the table. “Let me ask you this, Ed: Where were you when I was 353 pounds? I can’t recall one time that you showed any interest in me before I lost the weight. Now, all of a sudden I’m fascinating and beautiful and you feel the need to apologize to me for the behavior of someone that you don’t even know.”

Ed gave a look of surprise, but otherwise seemed to take the comment in stride. “You want the truth?” he asked as though it was a challenge.

“I’m a big girl—no pun intended,” Brianya said smiling.

“First, I was married. Second, I don’t date fat women.”

No More Expectations, available in all e-formats on Smashwords
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/261074
Also available on Kindle

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

