My Writing Life

Welcome!  I’m glad you found your way to my blog.  My goal is to write something at least twice a week pertaining to the writing life.  To start things off, let me share a little of what I’ve learned about forming your own publishing company.  While the experience was at once exhilarating and scary, it was also sobering.

Why sobering?  When I first started kicking around the idea of becoming a publisher, I thought only about the immediate benefits I could receive, such as not having to answer to anyone about the editorial choices I made, or not having to wait two or three years before my book saw the light of day.  Well, that may be true and all.  But two or three years is nothing compared to how long it took me to write the short stories that actually make up my book.  That’s a story for another blog post.  Anyway, after spending a significant amount of time writing the stories, the last thing I wanted to do was wait, and wait, and wait some more to find an agent, then for the agent to pitch the story to an editor at the publishing company, then for the editor to pitch the story to whomever, and so on.  You get the picture.

I write because I like to tell stories–on paper, that is!  I could have gone on forever telling my made-up stories to my family and friends, but I wanted a wider audience (though I didn’t know it at the time).  So the idea of having my words sitting around collecting more dust, just wasn’t appealing.  I wanted to get my words into the hands of as many people who wanted to read them.  Enter the idea of  starting my own publishing company.  I must warn you.  If you’re the type of person who enjoys writing–and only writing–then self publishing is definitely not for you.  Keep in mind that as a self publisher you’re responsible for 100 per cent of the marketing of your book.  You’re also responsible for finding a printer, editor, graphic designer, purchasing your own ISBN, and everything else that has to do with your book and its success.  Definitely a learning experience!

Next blog: Publishing in Steps


Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Writing Life

  1. Teri Gage says:

    Cathy girl,

    I sure enjoyed being at the “Evening of Dramatic Readings and Skits” . Just to let ya know I went on line and ordered my book from Barnes and Noble. I can’t wait to read it! Your reading of : Don’t Judge A Book, was awesome!!! Oowee, looking forward to finding out what happens in: Expectations!!! Thanks for a wonderful evening and let me know what else you have going on out there this year.

    Teri Gage

    • Cathy Jo says:

      Hey Teri!

      I’m so glad you could join us for our very first writer’s group event. And I’m glad that you enjoyed yourself! I had fun reading “Don’t Judge a Book.” 🙂 You will definitely receive an invitation to whatever else we have going on.

      Now, Teri, be sure that when you finish reading the book/story you go back to the B&N Web site and let everyone know your thoughts (good or bad). 🙂

      Cathy Jo

  2. dierdre says:

    Hey, Cathy I love your short stories I wish Expectations was longer.i have not finish reading the whole book but it is inte resting I’m so proud of you BB I will keep supporting you,girl you should have wrote a short story on our childhood the funny parts like the movies us going out me thinking he wanted me lol.Well BB keep up the good work talk to you soon…

    • Cathy Jo says:

      Thank you, Dee Dee! I’m glad you’re enjoying the book. Someday I might sit down and write that short story on the fun parts of our childhood, like going to the movies and throwing cherry balls at that poor man’s head! You always were a “good” influence on me – – NOT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

